Fiji Geography

Located 1,770 km to New Zealand's north, Fiji is an archipelago of 522 islets and 322 volcanic islands in the South Pacific. With 106 of the island's geography permanently populated, Viti Levu is the country's largest island and encompasses approximately 57% of Fiji's land area. Home to two of the nation's official cities, Lautoka and Suva, the capital, the island's population comprises 69% of the country's total and is one of Fiji's most popular holiday destinations.

Vanua Levu is Fiji's second main island and is 64 km to Viti Levu's north. With a land area covering approximately 30%, the island is home to only 15% of the total population. The main towns of the island are Savusavu and Labasa while to the northeast, Natewa Bay shapes the Loa peninsula.

The islands feature mountainous terrain covered in dense tropical forest with heavy annual rainfalls on the southeastern side while the lowlands of the western side are sheltered by mountainous peaks and experience a dry season perfect for local crops including sugarcane.

There are a number of smaller islands and groups which cover only 12.5% of Fiji's land area yet are home to 16% of the nation's population. These include Taveuni to Vanua Levu's southeast, Kadavu Island off Viti Levu's south, just off Nadi the Mamanuca Group, the Yasawa Group to the Mamanucas' north, the Lomaiviti Group off Suva and the isolated Lau Group in the Koro Sea.

The outer lying regions of Rotuma 400 km north and Ceva-i-Ra of Conway Reef 450 km southwest are culturally conservative or uninhabited coral atolls and cays which are relatively autonomous from Fijian dependency.

More than 50% of the Fijian population resides on the coasts of Suva or smaller urban centers.