Hawaii Map

Formed by ancient volcanic activity, the Hawaiian Islands are an archipelago spread over 2,500 km. The Hawaii map below shows the 8 major islands which are located in the south east. The biggest Hawaiian Island, aptly known as the 'Big Island', was formed by 5 individual shield volcanoes and is now home to active volcanoes in the south.

With a population of more than 150,000, Hawaii rises to 4,205 metres above sea level with Manua Kea (White Mountain, so named for its snow coverage during winter) its highest point. Maui is Hawaii's second biggest island with a summit reaching 3,055 m and a population of 117,644, The third largest island is Oahu, home to the capital, Honolulu, and the famous resort neighbourhood of Waikiki. Honolulu boasts the largest population with 876,151 residents. The map also features Kaua'i, rounding out the largest 4 islands and major airports.

While Hawaii is spread across 8 wildly diverse islands, most of the action takes place on just four. Some of the less frequented islands are totally uninhabited while one (Niihau) prohibits visiting tourists to protect the indigenous populations who continue to live there. The most popular four islands are Oahu, Maui, Kaua'i and the Hawaii Island (also known as the Big Island). Here travellers will find outstanding examples of nature’s wonders; sheer escarpments, world-renowned surfing, diving and thrilling trekking and mountain bike riding. Whether you're seeking respite and relaxation or an other-worldly adventure, Hawaii's awesome beauty and aloha-spirit will be sure to capture you.

Take a look at the map below to explore the numerous resorts and hotels available across the Hawaii islands. For the value traveller or luxury visitor, Hawaii caters to all. Inclusive hotels, family resorts and self-catered apartments have been carefully designed to ensure your experience in the tropical state is one to remember.