Up To 50% OFF holiday packages


Thailand Currency

The official Thailand currency is the Thai Baht (฿THB) which features nine coin denominations and five note denominations. Thailand is not considered an expensive country and can be enjoyed on a very moderate budget, however when travelling in Thailand, resorts tend to be on the more expensive side while local markets and shops are much more affordable. ATMs are available in the major towns and tipping is not expected in Thailand however a small gratuity will be very graciously appreciated if you receive outstanding service.

Thai Baht, Baht, Currency, Money

What is the currency in Thailand?

Thailand's currency is the Thai Baht (฿THB). There are nine coin denominations (1 satang, 5 satang, 10 satang, 25 satang, 50 satang, 1 baht, 2 baht, 5 baht and 10 baht) and five note denominations (20 baht, 50 baht, 100 baht, 500 baht and 1000 baht) which depict the current king as well as various former kings.

Is Thailand an expensive destination?

Thailand has a reputation for being quite an inexpensive destination and can be enjoyed on quite a lean budget. Food and drink is typically the biggest expense when on holiday, however there are a wide range of affordable local options when it comes to bars, restaurants and markets. For visitors nervous about eating from street vendors, there are also plenty of excellent options at the onsite restaurants at the large number of tourist resorts, however keep in mind this option is typically more expensive. To make the most of the resort lifestyle, pre-book a meal plan and save. There are some incredible buffets on offer to fill you up for less. Of course, you can spend big in Thailand if you wish however even those seeking luxury will find the prices in Thailand very agreeable.

Are there ATMs in Thailand?

ATMs accepting most international cards are available all across Thailand including at the airport and in most of the larger resorts. However Australian travellers are advised that withdrawal fees for these can be quite high. Hotels and retailers offer currency exchange, though rates tend to be better at banks and authorised exchangers. You may wish exchange your money back home and bring a reserve of cash with you, especially if you intend on visiting some of the more remote islands where these services may not be available.

Can I use my credit card in Thailand?

All major credit cards including Visa, Mastercard and Amex are accepted in most major Thailand hotels, restaurants, retailers and tourist destinations however international travellers will be charged a conversion fee. Not all merchants will offer credit card facilities however and if you plan on visiting some of the more remote islands, it's recommended you take cash with you just in case.

Do you need to tip in Thailand?

Tipping is not mandatory in Thailand however it is also no built into the cost of wages. Although certainly not expected, tipping has become more and more common among tourists thanks to the cheaper cost of goods and services compared what they would pay back home. If you do wish to tip, we suggest leaving approximately 10% of the bill which will be received with great appreciation.

Great Value Deals