Tahiti Map

Located in the South Pacific, Tahiti is actually a group of islands called French Polynesia, however they are most commonly known simple as Tahiti. Covering a huge expanse of the ocean’s surface, the islands of Tahiti stretch across 4 million square kilometres, roughly the same area as Europe. However only 4000 square kilometres are made up of dry land and the Tahiti map below shows only a fraction of this. With a total of 118 islands, Tahiti is divided into five main archipelagos which include the Marquesas, the Tuamotu, the Australs, the Gambier and the Society Islands.

The Tahiti map below focuses on the Society Islands, the main group of islands in Tahiti home to the famous holiday destinations of Bora Bora, Moorea and Papeete. However where is Tahiti from Australia? This is a common question due to the isolation of the islands. However it is this isolation and natural beauty that draws so many in. The islands of Tahiti are situated approximately 8 hours by plane northeast of Australia and are located in the same time zone as Hawaii. In fact, Tahiti is the same distance south of the equator as Hawaii is north of the equator.