What Are The Cheapest & Most Expensive Times to Fly?

3rd May 2017 Travel Tips

Qantas Plane [HD]

Many budget conscious travellers rely on savvy airfare shopping to save on the cost of a holiday. While some like to hedge their bets and nab a discounted airfare with a last minute seat filler, others prefer to book far in advance rather than risk price hikes due to limited availability. Of course, the seasonality of flight prices also makes it difficult to find the best dates for your holiday.

Regardless of how early you book, there are some dates that will simply cost more to fly. Whether prices are affected by the peak tourist season, the Australian school holiday calendar or popular holiday periods such as Christmas, if you want to save money on flights there are some key dates to avoid.

TravelOnline has analysed the data of flight sales for a number of major airlines to calculate which dates are the cheapest and which dates will cost you more in 2017. Giving you a general guide to the cheapest and most expensive flight dates for some of the most popular holiday destinations for Australian travellers, the data also gives you an idea of what you can expect to pay when departing from the east coast of Australia.

“Although this is a general guide to travel times the trend is fairly consistent across the majority of popular airlines,” says Glenn Checkley, Managing Director at TravelOnline.

“Typically airlines increase prices as the travel date approaches, so my advice is to book as far in advance as possible and be flexible with your dates to secure the best deal.

“Even in peak travel periods, planning ahead is more often than not, the best way of securing the cheapest prices” he said.

Plane

The book now, pay later concept is one that works particularly well for getting the best package deal prices. Travellers can secure early bird flight pricing and with just a small additional deposit, can layby their hotel, tours and airport transfers at the same time. Although flights must be paid in full at the time of booking, customers can continue to pay off the remainder of their holiday in smaller, more affordable instalments throughout the year until they are ready to travel.

Thanks to a new partnership with HSBC, TravelOnline customers can book and pay for their holiday in full by applying for a HSBC 12 Months Interest Free credit card. Receiving a response in just 60 seconds, approved card holders can enjoy the peace of mind of securing their desired holiday package with no deposit required and a 12 month interest free period to allow them to pay off the balance, says Mr Checkley.

Bali

Cheapest: $549 return
Sunday 20/08/2017 – Sun 27/08/2017

Most Expensive: $1351 return
Sunday 02/05/2017 – Sun 09/05/2017

Phuket

Cheapest: $661 return
Sunday 27/08/2017 – Sunday 03/09/2017

Most Expensive: $1,206 return
Sunday 24/12/2017 – Sunday 31/12/2017

Hawaii

Cheapest: $659 return
Saturday 22/05/2017 – Saturday 29/05/2017

Most Expensive: $1,776 return
Sunday 24/09/2017 – Sunday 01/10/2017

Fiji

Cheapest: $526 return
Sunday 05/11/2017 – Sunday 12/11/2017

Most Expensive: $1,226 return
Sunday 02/07/2017 – Sunday 09/07/2017

Vanuatu

Cheapest: $547 return
Wednesday 09/08/2017 – Wednesday 16/08/2017

Most Expensive: $1147 return
Sunday 02/07/2017 – Sunday 09/07/2017

Comments