Fiji Currency

The official currency of Fiji is the Fijian dollar. The dollar was the country’s first currency, and was in circulation between 1867 and 1873 before being replaced with the Fijian pound.

In 1969 the Fijian dollar was reinstated, replacing the pound at a rate of 1 pound = 2 dollars. The dollar title was chosen as the currency returned to a decimal system (100 cents to a dollar). The dollar depicted the Queen’s face until 2013 following Fiji’s expulsion from the Commonwealth in 2012. The notes now picture native flora and fauna, and while the country has been readmitted to the Commonwealth, it's unlikely that the Queen’s face will return to the currency.

There are six Fijian coin denominations (5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents, 1 dollar, 2 dollars) which depict various cultural icons. These include a drum, a throwing club, a whale’s tooth, an outrigger canoe, a drinking vessel and a kava bowl. The coins also reflect native animals including the foxface rabbitfish, flying fox, Kadavu shining parrot, humphead wrasse, banded iguana and the peregrine falcon.

Fijian dollar notes are available in five denominations (5 dollars, 10 dollars, 20 dollars, 50 dollars, 100 dollars). In green, purple, blue, red and yellow, the notes feature a number of places and industries of Fijian significance.

Fijian Dollar, Fiji Dollar, Money, Banknote, Dollar

Fijian Economy

Despite enjoying one of the most developed economies in the region, Fiji is still recognised as a developing country among the international community. Around 70% of the labour force work within the agriculture industry while tourism is a significant income source for the country. Fiji also has a substantial trade deficit due to the amount of goods it must import. Following political uncertainly over the last few decades, the country has suffered from large emigration numbers. Today, the economy indicates it is on it’s way up as national politics begins to settle.